Affectionately known as St Nick's, the church has a history going back to the 13th century. The original building was extended piecemeal through the ages and was completely rebuilt in 1775 (leaving the pews and galleries intact!). The tower collapsed in 1810 and was rebuilt, and minor changes were made here and there in ensuing years. But in 1940 incendiary bombs destroyed the church except for the tower. The present building was consecrated in 1952. It is of a very pleasing mellow dressed sandstone. The church is welcoming and very picturesque!
Come and explore the historic waterfront with one of our tours
Trip to Liverpool Planner
FIND OUT MORE ABOUT THIS WORLD HERITAGE SITE ON ONE OF OUR WALKING TOURS